This Page

has moved to a new address:


Sorry for the inconvenienceā€¦

Redirection provided by Blogger to WordPress Migration Service


Warning: Some Pre Made Pastry contains Ethanol/Alcohol!

Salam Alaikum,

This warning comes from first hand experience of being too lazy / i have better things to do than learn how to make puff pastry right now. SHOCKING i know coming from a baker dedicated to her craft / sweet tooth lol

I wanted to make the creamy delight that is a vanilla slice pictured above, although mine would have been single decker slice(s), never mind some other time inshaAllah for now i can indulge in the thought.

The story goes a little something like this:-

While doing my online grocery shopping one cold winter evening, the thought came into my head that pre made pastry would be the way to go in order for me to save time in making my most favourite bakery item.
So as i usually do, i checked the ingredients list displayed here thinking that it was the all above board i.e. the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth but to my dismay here is the whole truth, the complete ingredients list

Ethanol = Alcohol = Haram / Forbidden
By that time it was too late i already had the product in my house so i binned it and that was that, the end of my easy pastry dreams.

So next time i or you think about cutting corners in order to make life easier, think twice and always read the label (of course alot easier if you have the product and packaging in the palm of your hand and not on a screen like i did)

Labels: ,


At 1 January 2013 at 11:36 , Blogger Unknown said...

Jazakillahu khayran for the reminder dear sis!
It's always sad to experience such things, especially when you've already purchased the product.
But just remember, that when you give up something haram for Allah's sake, He replaces it with something much better :-)

At 1 January 2013 at 15:58 , Anonymous Anonymous said...

Thank you for the info! I would never have guessed they'd put alcohol in it! I had it so many times! Alhamdulilah though now we know the truth thanks!

At 2 January 2013 at 18:12 , Blogger Umm Ahmad said...

Also on the label it says mono- and diglycerides, which can be lard or other animal fat. Always look for a "u" or a "k" with a circle around them. Those are okay for us to eat. :)

At 2 January 2013 at 18:29 , Blogger Unknown said...

JazakAllah Khayran, the pic i posted just showed the ingredients but the product was suitable for vegans :)


Post a Comment

I like to hear from my readers, sincere advice is welcome so feel free to leave me a comment.

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home